Rocester vs Sporting Khalsa

Staffordshire Senior Cup





Sporting Khalsa


  • Carlo Franco - 1 goal(s)
10th November 2015 | 7:45 pm
Hillsfield (Rocester)


Carlo Franco - goal machine.
Carlo Franco – goal machine.

A devastating hat-trick by Karl Demidh and fantastic performance by keeper Richard Frogatt left Khalsa reeling as they crashed out of the Staffordshire Vase.

It was a hard slog for a much-changed Khalsa side from the off although up until the first goal they held the upper hand and carved out a series of opportunities.

Simeon Townsend found himself in the box with the ball at his feet on seven minutes, but was unable to react in time before the ball was bundled out of play and then Dave Meese hit the bar with an audacious lob on nine minutes.

And seven minutes later Tim Jackson curled a free kick just over as Khalsa looked for all the world the most likely to score.

But on 23 minutes Demidh effectively won the match for Rocester in a two minute spell, first winning and converting a penalty and then slipping the defence, rounding keeper James Pemberton and scoring.

For the next half hour, Khalsa made a push to get back into the game, having the lion’s share of the possession but quite comfortably kept at bay by a well organised and drilled defence. And when they did breach the ranks, Rocester keeper Frogatt was in quite superb form, producing great saves to deny Townsend and Meese while Marvin Nisbett was wasteful on 39 minutes.

But Rocester were always threatening on the break and it had taken two excellent challenges by Tes Robinson either side of half time to deny easy scoring opportunities. Finally, on 80 minutes Dimedh wrapped up his treble by capitalising on some pretty shocking defending.

Although Carlo Franco pulled one back with three minutes to go, Rocester then grabbed another, this time through Dan Brown – whose fine drive from the angle flew in off the post – to complete the misery for the visitors.

Sporting Khalsa: James Pemberton; Carlo Franco, Tim Jackson, Joe Rogers, Tes Robinson; Brad Lawley (Mike Perks), Nicky Campbell (captain), Dave Meese, Marvin Nisbett, Callum Cooper (Matt Martin); Simeon Townsend (Rikardo Reid).

First team results 2015-16