Boldmere St Michaels vs Sporting Khalsa

Midland Football League


Boldmere St Michaels



Sporting Khalsa


  • Tes Robinson - 1 goal(s)
3rd August 2019 | 3:00 pm
Trevor Brown Memorial Ground


Tes Robinson – won the game with a thumping header

Khalsa skipper Tes Robinson helped his side edge a tight contest and provide Ian Rowe’s men with their first opening day win in four seasons.

Robinson nodded home a freekick from Lewis Worsey – who enjoyed an impressive debut – on 25 minutes in a game lacking in clearcut opportunities.

Early skirmishes saw former Khalsa striker Rikardo Reid fire well wide while at the other end Mykel Beckley’s tame shot was easily handled by Mikes keeper Lewis Fenney.

Beckley had the ball in the net on 17 minutes but was flagged offside and five minutes later Reid had a great opportunity through on goal only to be denied by Sam Arnold.

After Robinson put Khalsa ahead, the tempo dipped and Jack Skinner’s badly directed effort on 35 minutes the only further action of note in the first half.

Boldmere came out with some purpose and on 49 minutes Reid had another opportunity when clear through but put his chip straight into the hands of Arnold.

Shortly afterwards, at the other end, Beckley was put through by Gaz Singh but couldn’t get his effort on target.

And almost immediately Reid came agonisingly close to drawing his side level, hitting the bar with a great effort from a tight angle after impressively carving himself an opportunity.

The final stages saw Boldmere turn up the heat in search of an equaliser. Joe Lyng headed over from a Rico Taylor corner on 75 minutes and the same player then hit the top of the bar with a header.

But Khalsa held firm and might even have extended their lead on 87 minutes when substitutes Dan Westwood and James McGrady combined only for their break to be snuffed out by the Boldmere defence.

Sporting Khalsa: Sam Arnold, Carlo Franco, Lewis Worsey, Leon Miles, Tes Robinson (captain), Alex Perry, Kieron Whittaker, Dave Meese, Mykel Beckley (Dan Westwood), Gaz Singh (James McGrady), Sean Williams. Subs not used: Mike Perks, Mark Smith, Alex Woodhouse.

First team results 2019-20