Sporting Khalsa vs Aylestone Park

FA Vase First Round


Sporting Khalsa



Aylestone Park


5th December 2020 | 3:00 pm
The Guardian Warehousing Arena


Gaz Singh – opened the scoring for Khalsa.

A virtuoso performance in midfield by Jake Gosling helped Khalsa into the next round of the FA Vase after several weeks out of action due to Lockdown II.

Gosling bagged two goals and was at the heart of most things Khalsa did as they stepped through the gears to see off their Leicestershire opposition.

Both sides would have been forgiven for being a tad rusty after the enforced break, but the frantic pace generated by both sides put paid to any such fears.

From the off there was action at both ends, Gosling stinging the fingers of Aylestone keeper Thomas Hollyoak on three minutes and Aaron Preston shooting straight at Sam Arnold at the other end two minutes later and then Hollyoak saved well to deny Sean Williams on eight minutes.

Khalsa took the lead on 14 minutes, Gosling and Liam Armstrong combining brilliantly to set up Gaz Singh who finished with style.

The visitors were back in it on 27 minutes, Cory Holdom slotting home from the spot to make it 1-1.

Khalsa almost regained the lead on 33 minutes, James McGrady surging down the left and putting into the danger zone just out of the reach of Singh.

But Gosling did restore the lead on 34 minutes, hustling and bustling his way in the box and firing home past Hollyoak. The visiting keeper pulled off a good stop to deny Singh on 41 minutes, cutting out a Williams cross after a scintillating defence-splitting pass by Armstrong.

Ten minutes into the second half, the resolve of the away side took a body blow when substitute Endru Beck-Ray upended Lewis Worsey in the box and Gosling stepped up to chip the penalty into the middle of the goal.

Arnold had to make a nifty save to deny Beck-Ray on 72 minutes before Ethan Jones, making his debut for Khalsa, scored with a shot which was too hot for Hollyoak to handle and crept in.

Sporting Khalsa: Sam Arnold, Carlo Franco, Lewis Worsey, Matt Fulloway, Tes Robinson (captain), Alex Woodhouse, Liam Armstrong (Mike Perks), Jake Gosling, Gaz Singh (Ethan Jones), Sean Williams, James McGrady (Dan Okojie). Subs not used: Adnan Yussif, Kieron Whittaker.