Sporting Khalsa vs Lye Town

Total Motion Midland Football League


Sporting Khalsa



Lye Town


5th March 2019 | 7:45 pm
The Guardian Warehousing Arena


Alex Perry – first league goal for Sporting Khalsa.

A damp, scrappy game required the scrappiest of goals to decide between local rivals Khalsa and Lye, with Alex Perry happy to oblige with his first league goal for the club.

Perry’s goal with two minutes of the first half remaining was far from a cracker. A Carlo Franco centre from the right was headed into the pitch by Perry who dived awkwardly to reach it and the ball looped over Kieron Boucher and tamely into the net.

It took until 18 minutes for a chance to be registered, Josh Thomas’s cross from the left found Jay Holdcroft who headed over unmarked.

Five minutes later and a Lye body somehow got in the way to clear off the line from Thomas after he was fed by Franco.

And then at the other end Lewis Worsey had probably Lye’s best chance of the half, connecting with a deep free kick but putting it over.

After Perry’s goal put Khalsa ahead at the break, the game degenerated into a scrappy and niggly affair during the second period.

Lewis Probert, charging forward from left-back, screwed a shot wide of the near post on 49 minutes and two minutes later Ben Billingham forced a good stop from Sam Arnold.

At the other end, Boucher pulled off a good save on 55 minutes to deny Holdcroft and on 58 minutes Holdcroft had a goal chalked off for offside which was never in a million years offside.

Khalsa in honesty never looked much like surrendering their lead against a side which beat league leaders Ilkeston at the weekend. Rare moments of excitement came at the other end as Boucher produced routine stops to deny Dave Meese on two separate occasions on 67 and 73 minutes.

On 78 minutes, a great block by Shawn Boothe – who missed very little all night – halted the rampaging run of Sam Tye on the break, the last real effort of note.

Sporting Khalsa: Sam Arnold, Carlo Franco, Remi Birch, Shawn Boothe, Tes Robinson (captian), Alex Perry, Dave Meese, Liam Armstrong (Kieron Whittaker), Jay Holdcroft (Gaz Singh), Sean Williams, Josh Thomas (Mensah Kinch). Subs not used: Mykel Beckley, Adam Osbourne.

First team results 2018-19